4-MALITY premieres a new piece for mezzo soprano and percussion


13 August 2015

On August 12, 4-MALITY premiered a new piece for mezzo soprano and percussion at Lake District Summer Music Festival.

Jan Bradley

"Those Who Watch and Wait" Three Poems for Mezzo Soprano and Percussion* WORLD PREMIERE"

These three poems present differing perspectives on the conflict, from three different women in three different languages. The words have shaped my music and drawn colours and shapes from the quartet which take us to new and uncharted territory. Using the quartet as both an accompanying instrument and a stand-alone ensemble has been a wonderful journey.

Jan Bradley

3 poems reflecting on the First World War (1914-1918) are set to music.

  1. Les Femmes de tous les pays - Cécile Périn (1877-1959)
  2. Immer steh ich am Fenster - Frida Bettingen (1865 - 1924)
  3. The Young Soldier - Katharine Tynan (1861-1931)